“We Are SMAP” Album Release Date & Details

Last month, SMAP officially announced the five-dome “We are SMAP! Tour 2010,” set to begin on July 31. Today, they provided information about their new album, “We are SMAP!”, including a July 21st release date. The theme “We are SMAP” is taken from a phrase that is shouted by the group’s members and fans at the end of every concert.

A list of participants was revealed, with more to be announced later. The album will offer music from a wide range of artists, both national and international.

Artists:
– Daniel Powter
– Makihara Noriyuki (writer of “Sekai ni Hitotsu Dake no Hana”)
– Hisaishi Joe (music) & Ota Hikari of Bakusho Mondai (lyrics)
– LOVE PSYCHEDELICO
– Kubota Toshinobu (wrote “Sotto Kyutto” for the drama Ninkyo Helper)
– RIP SLYME
– Yamaguchi Ichiro of Sakanaction
– Theory of Relativity

In addition, New York jazz/fusion musician Omar Hakim will partricipate in the production of the album’s tracks. Hakim had previously participated in SMAP’s 1994-1995 albums “SMAP006 ~SEXY SIX~”, “Cool”, and “SMAP007 ~ Gold Singer.” Furthermore, the members of a New York band, who were named “Smappies” by Omar Hakim, will gather together for the first time since their last recording 15 years ago in order to participate in the new album.

Other details:

– “We are SMAP!” will be released in 2 discs.
– For LOVE PSYCHEDELICO, this is the first time they ever make a song for other artist.
– This time, there will be no “Theme of ~” song for the first/opening track. In place of that, several “We are SMAP!” themed-musical tunes will be made to represent the sense of unity of the whole album.

Artist’s comments:

Hisaishi Joe – “As I imagine SMAP members, the melody naturally flowed in my mind. To present the large world view, I made it in an orchestra sound. I’m happy that I get to participate in ‘We are SMAP!'”

Makihara Noriyuki – “I definitely want SMAP, who has influence and popularity in such a wide range of age, to sing the song I have made. I’m really looking forward to hear something that I always thought important in daily life, being conveyed by their singing voices.”

Kubota Toshinobu – “It’s so strange that I can put all my mind in making a song for SMAP just as much as when I’m making a song that I sing myself. I’m definitely a part of ‘We’, ne.”

Daniel Powter – “I’m very pleased that we can keep the promise we said in SMAPxSMAP ‘Let’s create a song together someday!’. From LA with love.”

Ota Hikari (Bakusho Mondai) – “As a new part of SMAP, I’m currently working hard with singing and dancing rehearsal, and also writing the lyrics.”

LOVE PSYCHEDELICO – “We made the song with much love for SMAP members and the fans. We’re very happy if you can feel the new SMAP sound.”

Katori Shingo (SMAP) – “I’m very happy that extremely talented artists are participating as ‘We’. To all the fans, please participate in this album as ‘We’ too! And let’s make a ‘We are SMAP!’ together!”

s: aratheydidnt

Follow JKMixx @ Twitter: twitter.com/jkmixx

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

